Congress chooses O Nabakishore and K James to Contest Lok Sabha poll in Manipur

The Indian National Congress (INC) has named O. Nabakishore Singh, retired IAS to contest the Inner Manipur parliamentary seat while K. James, an entrepreneur has been named as the party candidate for the Outer Manipur (ST) seat.
AICC released its list of party candidates for the 17th Lok Sabha elections having names of candidates for the two parliamentary seats in Manipur on Saturday late night.
It may be mentioned that till 10 pm last night, there was no official announcement on the Congress candidates for the two parliamentary seats in Manipur.
However, both the aspiring party candidates – ex-State chief secretary O. Nabakishore and K. James, an entrepreneur, have finally been selected by the party out of 16 candidates, who applied for Congress tickets for the Inner and Outer Manipur parliamentary constituencies.
The candidates were waiting for the release of party’s candidates list for the Lok Sabha at the Congress Bhavan in Imphal till 8.30 pm on Saturday.
Speaking to reporters, minutes before their departure from the Congress Bhavan on Saturday, K James said that he was confident of getting Congress party ticket for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections so that he could address the issues of the weaker section in the State as one of his priorities.
He also expressed concern for not giving right to contest election but voting right to eight Assembly constituencies in valley districts under the Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency.
Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) sources said the State party functionaries were expecting the official release of the names of the Congress from the national capital for the polls on Saturday night itself.
O Nabakishore, a retired IAS officer of Manipur-Tripura (1984) cadre served as chief secretary of Manipur. He is a resident of Ningthoukhong in Bishnupur district. He is the first Meitei to be appointed to the top post.
He topped Matriculation examination in 1975, secured 8th position in PUC examination and got 6th position in MSc (Physics) in Delhi University in 1982 .
In his first attempt in 1983, he cracked the Combined Civil Services examination and received a position in the Indian Audit and Accounts Service.
However, he turned down the offer and made his second attempt the following year and made the cut for the IAS. O Nabakishore, who had received higher studies in countries like Philippines, had worked at Union Petroleum Ministry and Human Development Ministry etc as an IAS officer.
Congress Outer candidate K. James is a resident of Tangkhul Hundung under Kamjong district but presently staying at Sangaiprou in Imphal West district. He served as finance officer at Department of higher Education (U) and department of Handloom and handicraft department. It may be recalled that one of the party ticket seekers (for the Inner Manipur seat) ex-MLA Dr Ng Bijoy of the Congress party along with four other ex-MLAs have already joined a regional political party called North East Indian Development Party.
Earlier, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had announced party’s State unit spokesperson Dr RK Ranjan and social worker and party’s State unit vice president H Shokhopao alias Benjamin Mate as their candidates for the Inner and Outer Manipur parliamentary seat for the Lok Sabha poll which is scheduled to be held in the State on April 11 and 18 next.
Renowned environmentalist RK Ranjan will contest for the second time from the Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency.
In the last Lok Sabha polls, Ranjan lost to Congress MP Dr Thokchom Meinya.
Meanwhile, BJP national leader Nalin Kohli, who is election in-charge of Manipur, arrived here on Saturday to attend party meetings for election activities.
On Friday, national president of the National People’s Party (NPP) and Meghalaya chief minister Conard K. Sangma arrived here and launched the election campaign for party candidate Thangminlien Kipgen, a former minister from Kangpokpi district for the Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here